Maine's Outdoor Learning Center, Maine Guide School, Registered Maine Guide
Becoming a Registered Maine Guide
The process of becoming a License Registered Maine Guide is the most difficult in the country, which is why Maine Guides are held in such high regard.
Once licensed you become part of an Elite Group that supports the woods and waters of Maine.
Not only are we Maine Guides – we are also Guides to help you through the testing process.
You come to us with passion and experience in nature. We fine tune what you bring to the table with knowledge. Together, you’ll be 100% ready for testing.
MOLC has been successfully teaching residents and non-residents since 1997 to become Registered Maine Guides. Historically, Maine’s Outdoor Learning Center are pioneers being first school in Maine to offer week long training. “Get-er Done!” Before 1997 people would attend classes for 15 weeks and then wait months to test. John and Tami, owners of Maine’s Outdoor Learning Center, designed the course around the needs of folks who are ready to begin living their passion and enjoy the outdoors as much as they do.
Maine’s Outdoor Learning Center takes pride in having the most knowledgeable Instructors. The success rate for MOLC students is in the low 90's for first time testers and 99% for second time testers.
You will get your license – the process is the process
Historically, on March 19, 1897, The Maine legislature passed a bill requiring hunting guides to register with the State of Maine. In that first year Maine registered 1316 guides, with the very first Registered Maine Guide, a woman, Cornilia Thurza Crosby, or "Fly Rod", as she was popularly known. Fly Rod Crosby grew up in Phillips, Maine. In addition to being Maine’s first licensed guide, she promoted Maine's outdoor sports at shows in metropolitan areas, and wrote popular columns that appeared in many newspapers around the country. Her efforts helped to attract thousands of would-be outdoorsmen and women to the woods and waters of Maine.
A century plus later, as Maine Guides, we still hold the passion to share our knowledge and experience with others. Wearing the Patch still makes us proud.
PROCESS: Become One of Maine’s Elite Guides
To become a Registered Maine Guide you must complete an oral and written examination with Inland Fisheries and Wildlife in Augusta, Maine in each license classification – Recreation, Fishing, Specialized Tidewater, Hunting & Trapping.
All new applicants must be currently First – aid certified in any standard first-aid that meets the criteria established by rule of the commissioner. Our Maine Guide First-aid course is tailored to the woods and waters and has been approved by Inland Fisheries & Wildlife in Maine and New Hampshire.
As of November 2017, All Maine Guide Applicants (renewals & first-time applicants) are required by IF&W to submit a Background check that includes a criminal history record information (fingerprints).
As leaders in Outdoor Education since 1997, we will walk you through the testing process and stay by your side until the patch is in your hands.
Once enrolled in the class, we will mail you a class confirmation, background check forms, testing application, and more for becoming a Maine Guide with the State of Maine.
FEES ASSOCIATED WITH TESTING:
Testing Fee: $100.00 in each classification to be examined to become a guide. (Example: $100.00 Recreation; $200.00 Recreation & Fishing) One can only apply for 2 classifications at one testing. The third classification will require another test date. In the event the applicant fails the test, one re-examination is allowed before the fee must be paid again. NOTE: The $100.00 fee is non-refundable and will not be credited toward the license fee.
License Fee: $81.00 renewable every 3 years; first-aid is not required to renew. Background Check and Fingerprinting is.
Background Check: NO FEE
Finger Print: $55.00
Once you have received the letter from IF&W stating you are “Clear to Apply” you will mail in your testing application, along with a copy of the letter confirming you are clear. If you currently have a first-aid card, please send in photo copy of it with your application and fee. If you are taking First-Aid with MOLC and have a test date in place - You may bring your first-aid card with you to your testing date.
You will be required to sit for an oral exam showing proficiency as a Maine Guide. You will then sit for a written test. Both are done on the same day.
Once Licensed as a Registered Maine Guide your license is good for 3 years. You must renew on your expiration date to keep your license active.
We Stay by Your Side Until the Patch is in Your Hands
93 Thurlow Road, Lincolnville, Maine 04849
to find us on Facebook!
VA Educational Benefits, Chapter 31 (VA Facility Code Number: 28021419)
Registered Maine Guide Training Only